Triple J Hottest 100, 2012

by Bec Hawkings

My Top Ten votes, in no particular order:

The Mountain Goats, Cry For Judas

A blistering horn part from Matthew E. White coupled with John Darnielle’s extraordinary lyrical prowess.  I don’t believe in God: I believe in tMG.

Something For Kate, Miracle Cure

Paul Dempsey channels Bruce Springsteen, the lyrics are typical quasi-religious protest SFK fare, and all is well with the world.

Chance Waters, Maybe Tomorrow (feat. Lillian Blue)

(Timely) post-apocalyptic musings from one of my favourite new Australian artists.

Calvin Harris, Sweet Nothing (feat. Florence Welch)

Florence Welch and Calvin Harris could collaborate on a paper bag filled with day-old sandwiches and I’d probably still vote for it as one of the year’s best musical outputs.

Fiona Apple, Every Single Night

Ms. Apple stole my heart when I was sixteen years old, and she is yet to return it, the beautiful wench.

Jack White, Love Interruption

Nobody does ironic heartbreak quite as well as Jack White. “I won’t let love disrupt, corrupt, or interrupt me (anymore)” is the anthem of every twenty-something with a less-than-stellar past love life (i.e. all of us).

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Thrift Shop (feat. Wanz)

Obligatory novelty song vote. With – admittedly – a pretty sweet saxophone riff.

Of Monsters And Men, Little Talks

Obligatory “this song will probably get #1 so I’ll vote for it to feel like I’m part of something” vote. Also obligatory “I discovered this song six months before Triple J did please validate my indie music cred” vote. Also excellent song / album / band.

Jonathon Boulet, This Song Is Called Ragged

Including Boulet on my Hottest 100 list has become something of a recent tradition. But really, try to stop me voting for a song that includes gratuitous marimba.

Something For Kate, Survival Expert

The second vote for SFK, for three reasons:

1. I first heard this song as a baby solo idea when PD was still touring sans SFK

2. It’s a rollicking good song, and the best chance SFK has of getting a Top Ten track this year

3. Paul Dempsey may actually be some kind of supernatural being, and I don’t wish to incur his wrath.

